

LEGISLATIVE/ELECTION UPDATE

May 31, 2012

The long-awaited May 29 primary has produced a mixed bag of results, but there is no question that conservative voters turned out strongly. In the night's most anticipated contest, former State Solicitor General Ted Cruz pushed Lt. Governor David Dewhurst into the July 31 runoff election. Despite spending more than \$8 million of his own money, Dewhurst could only muster 44.5% of the vote, to Cruz's 34.2%. Former Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert ran third, garnering 13.3%. Dewhurst now faces the prospect of a late July primary election against a well-motivated and well-financed challenger with Tea Party credentials and a national following, which includes Sarah Palin, Sean Hannity, and other big names. If you're going on vacation in late July, don't forget to complete your mail-in ballot if you plan to vote in the runoff! On the Democratic side, former State Rep. Paul Sadler will face Grady Yarborough in the run-off.

The Lieutenant Governor wasn't the only statewide official to be forced into a runoff. Texas Supreme Court Justice David Medina will face former Harris County District Judge John Devine in July, while incumbent Texas Railroad Commissioner Barry Smitherman will meet Greg Parker. In the open Railroad Commission seat, Christi Craddick and former State Rep. Warren Chisum survived a large field to stand again in July. In the other contested Texas Supreme Court primary, Justice Don Willett won reelection with almost 57% of the vote. Justice Nathan Hecht was unopposed.

Moving to the Texas Senate, the bitter GOP primary contest between Sen. Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) and two challengers, former Railroad Commissioner Elizabeth Ames Jones and physician Donna Campbell will go to a run-off. Wentworth led the field with almost 36%, with Campbell at 34%. Although heavily financed by Texans Law Reform, Jones finished third and out of the running. In four open seats, the winners are Rep. Ken Paxton (who replaces Florence Shapiro); Rep. Kelly Hancock, who defeated State Rep. Todd Smith to win the seat vacated by Sen. Chris Harris; Rep. Larry Taylor, who replaces Sen. Mike Jackson (who lost a race for Congress); and Rep. Charles

Schwertner (R-Georgetown), who takes Sen. Steve Ogden's seat. In what promises to be a hotly contested Senate race in the fall, Rep. Mark Shelton will square off against incumbent Senator Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth). Senate incumbents easily winning re-election include Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock), Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls), Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands), Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo).

On the House side, numerous changes are in store. Incumbents who lost their seats include: Rep. Wayne Christian (R-Center), defeated by former Marshall Mayor Chris Paddie; Rep. Leo Berman (R-Tyler), who lost to Matt Schaefer; Rep. Rob Eissler (R-The Woodlands), defeated by Steve Toth; one-term incumbent Marva Beck (R-Centerville), who lost to Trent Ashby; and Rep. Vicki Truitt (R-Keller), who fell to Giovanni Capriglione. In addition to those, several incumbents were forced into the runoff by strong challengers: Rep. Sid Miller, Rep. Jim Landtroop; Rep. J.M Lozano, and Rep. Chuck Hopson (who will face TADC member Travis Clardy from Nacogdoches).

There are sixteen new House members, including one who has served previously (Chris Turner), with more to come following the July run-off.

Several TADC members made congressional runs. Mike Truncale and Jay Old finished just out of the runoff in the new Congressional District 14. Pete Gallego won a spot in the run-off with former Congressman Ciro Rodriguez in District 23, which stretches from San Antonio to El Paso. Congressman Lloyd Doggett prevailed even though his district was almost entirely redrawn out of Travis County.

In Court of Appeals races around the state, Ann McClure won an unexpired term for chief justice of the 8th Court; Rebecca Martinez wins a spot on the November ballot for the 4th Court; and Marcos Lizarraga will face Yvonne Rodriguez for McClure's seat on the 8th Court. On the GOP side, Tom Gray won re-election as chief justice of the 10th Court; Scott Field won the right to challenge incumbent Justice Diane Henson for the 3rd Court; David Evans and Bill Whitehill made the run-off for an open seat on the 5th Court, while David Lewis knocked off incumbent Martin Richter for Place 9 on that court; Bailey Moseley won re-election to the 6th Court; Mike Willson won an unexpired term on the 11th Court; and Brad Condit defeated Jaime Tijerina for the GOP nomination for a seat on the 13th Court.

<u>CLICK HERE</u> for complete election results from the Texas Secretary of State

REMINDER - REGISTER NOW!

2012 TADC Summer Seminar

July 18-22, 2012 – Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort – Sandestin, FL

A fantastic family destination for the Summer!

Don't miss this Seminar (program link below)

A 9.5 hr (with 2.0 hrs ethics) CLE Program Featuring:

The Honorable J.K. Sandill, 127th District Court, Harris County

Past TADC President Russell Serafin

and topics ranging from

New Technologies in Electronic Discovery to

Effective Presentation Techniques for Bench Trials to
a Panel on "What Your Young Lawyers are Thinking, but Not Saying!"

REGISTRATION MATERIALS HERE Sign up today!